[Skip to main content]

Villanova University  |   Call Toll Free: 855-300-1473 | International: +1 813-612-4296  | Site Map

+1 813-612-4296

IS Security

Prepare for Must-Have Certification With Top Training

Register Online

SAVE $1,090


Register Online
Chat with a Rep

In the world of information security contracting for the federal government, certification is now a requirement. For example, the Department of Defense Directive 8570.1 dictates that anyone with privileged access to an information system must obtain a commercial information security credential.

Villanova’s new Master Certificate in Information Security Management – Government will prepare you to meet the rigorous qualifications of leading federal government agencies, including the DoD, the National Security Agency (NSA), the Department of Homeland Security (DHS) and others.

Learn how to protect information and information systems, address specific security issues, and implement all skill areas contained in the latest CompTIA Security+™, CISSP® and SSCP® bodies of knowledge – all of which satisfy DoD Directive 8570.1.

Recent cyber-attacks on government websites in the United States and other countries reveal just how crucial it is to have up-to-date government security training.

Critical New Areas Of Expertise

This new master certificate program prepares you for CAP® certification, a new (ISC)2® qualification which satisfies Federal Information Security Management Act (FISMA) requirements.

Further, it supports CNSS National Standard 4011, which deals with intelligence activities, military command and control, and other vital issues impacting national security. You cannot go without these in-demand areas of knowledge in today’s information security field.

Who Should Register?

This program is ideal for all IT professionals who must manage information-related risks and other security processes that are critical at all levels of government today. It provides the high-end skills necessary to acquire CAP®, CISSP® or SSCP® certification through (ISC)2®, or the CompTIA Security+™ certification.

The Federal Information Security Management Act of 2002 (FISMA) mandates that all federal systems be certified and accredited prior to operation, and at least every three years thereafter.

Under FISMA, each federal agency must develop, document, and implement an agency-wide program to provide information security for the information and information systems that support the operations and assets of the agency, including those provided or managed by another agency, contractor or other source.

Under Executive Order (E.O.) 13231, Critical Infrastructure Protection in the Information Age, the president re-designated the National Security Telecommunications and Information Systems Security Committee as the Committee on National Security Systems (CNSS).

The CNSS provides a forum for the discussion of policy issues, sets national policy, and promulgates direction, operational procedures and guidance for the security of national security systems. CNSS National Standard 4011 is used by the NSA, DHS and other agencies.

Department of Defense Directive 8570.1
This directive mandates that all personnel with “privileged access” to DoD systems – either as employees or contractors – must obtain an ANSI-approved commercial certification by December 2011 in order to continue working in their current capacity or other security-related positions.

Department of Defense Qualifying Commercial Certifications

(Fulfillment for the 8570.1M requirement)

Technical ITechnical IITechnical III
Management IManagement IIManagement III