Register Now
Classroom Login
Call Now
Call Now 855-300-1473

CISSP Training

By Bisk
CISSP Test Prep

The need for a standardized certification program in information systems security started in the mid-1980s because a baseline was needed that would provide structure and demonstrate competence among IT security professionals. In 1989, the non-profit organization, International Information Systems Security Certification Consortium or (ISC)2 formed with this goal in mind. 

The (ISC)2 developed the CISSP, or Certified Information Systems Security Professional, certification for information security professionals. The CISSP has become a global standard in the information security field, and also meets the ISO/IEC Standard 17024 requirements.

CISSP Training

The CISSP training curriculum covers subject matter in a variety of topics on information security. The CISSP examination is based on a Common Body of Knowledge (CBK®) as defined by the (ISC)2. According to (ISC)², "the CISSP CBK is a collection of topics relevant to information security professionals around the world. The CISSP CBK establishes a common framework of information security terms and principles that allow information security professionals worldwide to discuss, debate and resolve matters pertaining to the profession with a common understanding."

For more than twenty years, information security has held confidentiality, integrity and availability (known as the CIA triad) to be the core principles of information security. The CISSP CBK attempts to balance these three across eight areas of interest, which are also called domains. The eight CBK domains are:

  • Security and Risk Management
  • Asset Security
  • Security Engineering
  • Communication and Network Security
  • Identity and Access Management
  • Security Assessment and Testing
  • Security Operations
  • Software Development Security

To become a CISSP, you must meet the following requirements*:

  • At least five years of direct full-time security work experience in two or more of the eight above-mentioned CBK domains. You may earn a one-year waiver if you have a four-year college degree, a Master’s degree in Information Security, or one of several other certifications. 
  • Verify the truth of your professional experience and accept the CISSP Code of Ethics.
  • Answer four background and criminal history questions.
  • Pass the CISSP exam with a scaled score of 700 points or greater out of 1000 possible points.
  • Have another CISSP in good standing endorse your work experience and qualifications.

If you’re looking for comprehensive preparation for the Certified Information Systems Security Professional (CISSP®) or Systems Security Certified Practitioner (SSCP®) certification exam, enroll in Villanova’s Mastering IS Security+. This in-depth 12-week course analyzes advanced facets of IS security management and practices to help you combat cryptographic attacks and other computer crimes that can threaten an organization’s computer security. The course includes 500 sample questions that can also help you prepare for the certification exam.

This course is ideal for professionals who manage security processes that are critical in today’s business, service and network environment. It provides managers and other professionals the high-end skills necessary to achieve CISSP® or SSCP® certification through (ISC).

Topics include:

  • Communication Security
  • Infrastructure Security
  • Cloud Computing
  • Access Control
  • Authentication
  • External Attacks
  • Operational and Organization Security

What you’ll learn:

  • Network Security, Internet Security and Computer Security Systems
  • About basic networking theory and equipment
  • Voice data LANs, WANs and remote access
  • Raid backups and robust networking
  • Business continuity planning and business-impact analysis
  • Understand and master the latest principles and practices of effective security management
  • Prepare to manage today’s complex security environments
  • Strengthen security leadership performance within an enterprise. Master the eight domains or the CBK® (Common Body of Knowledge) for both the CISSP® certification exam and the seven domains for the SSCP® certification exam

* Certification requirements are subject to change. Prospects should consult with certifying association for current requirements.

Category: Information Systems Security